Home

Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide

Sign up for our newsletter


D&C position notes

  • Commentary on the report of the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris on “classes of creditors for the transposition of the directive of June 20, 2019 on preventive restructuring frameworks”
    Commentary on the report of the Legal High Committee for Financial Markets of Paris on “classes of creditors for the transposition of the directive of June 20, 2019 on preventive restructuring frameworks”

    by Sophie Vermeille, Thibault Jauffret et Paul Oudin

    25 november 2020

    The High-Level Legal Committee of the Paris Financial Center has published, on September 25, 2020, a report entitled “Report on classes of creditors for the transposition of the Directive of June 20, 2019 on preventive restructuring frameworks.” Drawing on the lessons learned from the economic analysis of insolvency law, Droit & Croissance has decided to make a series of observations relating to this report in its new position paper. We highlight the need for a coherent articulation of the different procedures and…

  • Reusing magistrates’ identity data: what future for predictive justice? The French judge facing LegalTechs
    Reusing magistrates’ identity data: what future for predictive justice? The French judge facing LegalTechs

    by Eva Fourel and Youcef Rahmani

    15 january 2020

    The recent programming bill for 2019-222, adopted March 23, 2019, prohibits in particular the re-use of the magistrates’ identity data for purposes of statistical or predictive analysis. What are the reasons behind such a choice and what are its economic consequences? How can we take advantage of the positive economic consequences of a greater legal predictability and feed academic research, in a manner that is compatible with the specificities of French justice?

  • For a real corporate governance in France
    For a real corporate governance in France

    by Eva Fourel, Ahmed Guenaoui, Paul Oudin, Sophie Vermeille

    25 september 2019

    In the wake of the introduction of the PACTE Act, the Rules for Growth Institute invites French and European legislators to move beyond ideological squabbles over the “corporate purpose” and to build on the most recent academic work in order to improve corporate governance and complete the construction of the Capital Markets Union.

Publications

  • Shareholder Activism: Don’t Shoot the Messenger
    Shareholder Activism: Don’t Shoot the Messenger

    by Vincent Maire

    19 march 2021

    Activist shareholders are often vilified for pushing companies to take short-term actions that come at the expense of the companies’ long-term health. Vincent Maire, member of D&c and LL.M. candidate at NYU School of Law, returns on these arguments, which are, to him, misconceived, but they overlook substantial benefits that outside-investor oversight produces.

  • Activisme short et abus de marché
    Activisme short et abus de marché

    By Hayk Kehishian

    July, 2, 2020

    In the context of ongoing debates on shareholder activism and the review of MAR, the study of the application of market abuse to short activism should contribute to identifying the framework for an efficient regulation of this practice.

  • The Restructuring Directive: a functional law and economics analysis from a French law perspective
    The Restructuring Directive: a functional law and economics analysis from a French law perspective

    by Vasile Rotaru

    1er october 2019

    This working paper is an enriched version of the article published in the RTDF, June 2019, co-authored with Sophie Vermeille. It provides a thorough functional law and economics analysis of restructuring proceedings and, in particular, the new European Restructuring Directive, its objectives, proposed models and main measures. Our analysis shows that the directive lacks a clear conceptual basis and sometimes pursues the wrong objectives. However, its most significant measures can still be transposed into French law in accordance with the economic analysis, which offers the French legislator…

D&C presentations

  • Presentation to France Stratégie on Secured Financing
    Presentation to France Stratégie on Secured Financing

    by Sophie Vermeille

    9 march 2021

    This presentation at France Stratégie presents the major ideas of Droit & Croissance with regard to the law of secured financing within the context of the French ordinance project launched on 18 December 2020 by the French Ministry of Justice.

  • GameStop Presentation – Queen Mary University
    GameStop Presentation – Queen Mary University

    by Paul Oudin

    1 march 2021

    The recent events surrounding GameStop have been seen by many as a battle between David and Goliath, and by others as a threat for the well-functioning of financial markets. Recent discussions about the applicability of market manipulation rules to this case have shown that the legal debate itself is far from being settled. This talk at Queen Mary University, by Paul Oudin, took the GameStop case as an opportunity to revisit the scope and purpose of these rules.

  • Loopholes of the European directive 2019/1023 on preventive restructuring frameworks: a law & economic analysis
    Loopholes of the European directive 2019/1023 on preventive restructuring frameworks: a law & economic analysis

    By Sophie Vermeille
    “The convergence in EU rules for insolvency and enforcement” Conference – Bruegel – 31 october 2019

    The European directive 2019/1023 will be gradually transposed by the Member States by 17 July 2021. As it is the fruit of numerous political compromises, the Directive gives a lot of room for maneuver to Member States in their transposition efforts. However, a Law & Economics analysis of the Directive shows that numerous aspects, either left to the Member States or simply ignored, would have strongly deserved to be dealt with in the interest of the…

Press reviews

  • French banks face the risk of zombie companies
    French banks face the risk of zombie companies

    by Anne Drif and Édouard Lederer

    Les Echos – 28 january 2021

    In this recent article from Les Echos, Sophie Vermeille discusses the pitfalls of the French draft transposition of the directive on preventive restructuring frameworks.

  • Sophie Vermeille,  the quest for general interest
    Sophie Vermeille, the quest for general interest

    by Hugo de Gerauvilliers, Souveraine Finance

    November, 10, 2020

    Even when it means defending counter-intuitive positions – when they are not frankly unpopular – Sophie Vermeille knows how to do it brilliantly.

    As a researcher and lawyer, Sophie has been berated for her heterodox ideas, which she may have acquired through her wandering into the shady worlds of the economics of distressed companies and short selling. Whatever; it’s in the ordeal that one forges one’s convictions.

  • Interview: Towards actual corporate governance in France?
    Interview: Towards actual corporate governance in France?

    Interview with Eva Fourel

    Recueil Dalloz- 31 october 2019

    Extracted from the position paper of Droit et Croissance “For true corporate governance in France”, writen by Ahmed Guenaoui, Paul Oudin, Sophie Vermeille et Eva Fourel, this interview outlines the challenges of corporate governance in France, comments on the limits of the PACTE law and presents the contribution of the most recent economic theories to describe the shareholder-management relationship.

Events

Accueil

Slide Droit et croissance lance sa chaine de conférence pédagogique Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter


Notes de position D&C

  • Commentaire du rapport du Haut Comité Juridique de Place Financière de Paris sur les « classes de créanciers pour la transposition de la directive du 20 juin 2019 relative aux cadres de restructuration préventive »
    Commentaire du rapport du Haut Comité Juridique de Place Financière de Paris sur les « classes de créanciers pour la transposition de la directive du 20 juin 2019 relative aux cadres de restructuration préventive »

    par Sophie Vermeille, Thibault Jauffret et Paul Oudin

    25 novembre 2020

    Le Haut Comité Juridique de la Place Financière de Paris a publié, le 25 septembre 2020, un rapport intitulé « Rapport sur les classes de créanciers pour la transposition de la directive du 20 juin 2019 relative aux cadres de restructuration préventive ». Tirant parti des enseignements de l’analyse économique du droit des procédures collectives, Droit & Croissance a décidé de formuler une série d’observations relatives à ce rapport dans sa nouvelle note de position. Nous y mettons en évidence la nécessité…

  • Réutilisation des données d’identité des magistrats : quel avenir pour la justice prévisionnelle ? Le juge français face aux LegalTechs
    Réutilisation des données d’identité des magistrats : quel avenir pour la justice prévisionnelle ? Le juge français face aux LegalTechs

    par Eva Fourel et Youcef Rahmani

    15 janvier 2020

    La loi n° 2019-222 du 23 mars 2019 de programmation 2018-2022 et de réforme pour la justice interdit notamment la réutilisation des données d’identité des magistrats à des fins d’analyse statistique ou prédictive. Quelles sont les raisons et conséquences économiques d’un tel choix ? Comment tirer parti des conséquences économiques positives d’une plus grande prévisibilité et nourrir la recherche académique de manière compatible avec les spécificités de la justice française ?

  • Pour une véritable gouvernance d’entreprise en France
    Pour une véritable gouvernance d’entreprise en France

    par Eva Fourel, Ahmed Guenaoui, Paul Oudin, Sophie Vermeille

    25 septembre 2019

    À la suite de l’introduction de la loi PACTE , Droit & Croissance invite les législateurs français et européen à dépasser les querelles idéologiques sur le rôle de l’entreprise et à s’inspirer des travaux académiques les plus récents afin, d’une part, d’améliorer la gouvernance des entreprises et, d’autre part, d’achever la construction de l’Union des Marchés de Capitaux.

Conférences pédagogiques D&C

  • REPORT – Conférence pédagogique D&C Droit des sûretés 2
    REPORT – Conférence pédagogique D&C Droit des sûretés 2

    En raison d’un contexte préoccupant et dans l’attente du résultat de la consultation de la chancellerie, nous préférons reporter cette conférence à une date ultérieure dont nous vous informerons dès qu’elle sera connue. Nous vous remercions de votre soutien continu et espérons vous voir lors de cette prochaine date !
    Bien cordialement,
    Sophie Vermeille et l’équipe de Droit & Croissance

  • Conférence pédagogique D&C Gouvernance d’entreprise 2
    Conférence pédagogique D&C Gouvernance d’entreprise 2

    Depuis le 16 janvier 2021, Droit & Croissance lance sa chaîne de conférences pédagogiques en ligne dédiées à l’analyse économique du droit français. De nombreux sujets d’actualité et propositions de réforme sont à cette occasion discutés par les membres de Droit & Croissance.

  • Conférence pédagogique D&C Droit des sûretés
    Conférence pédagogique D&C Droit des sûretés

    Depuis le 16 janvier 2021, Droit & Croissance lance sa chaîne de conférences pédagogiques en ligne dédiées à l’analyse économique du droit français. De nombreux sujets d’actualité et propositions de réforme sont à cette occasion discutés par les membres de Droit & Croissance.

Publications D&C

  • Activisme : ne tirez pas sur le messager
    Activisme : ne tirez pas sur le messager

    par Vincent Maire

    19 mars 2021

    Les investisseurs activistes sont souvent accusés de contraindre les entreprises à adopter des mesures à court terme au détriment de leur intérêt à long terme. Vincent Maire, membre de D&C, revient sur ces arguments qui sont, selon lui, non seulement biaisés, mais négligent également les bénéfices substantiels qu’une supervision externe produit.

  • Activisme short et abus de marché
    Activisme short et abus de marché

    par Hayk Kehishian

    2 juillet 2020

    A l’heure des débats sur l’activisme en bourse et sur la révision de MAR, l’étude de l’application des abus de marché à l’activisme short doit permettre d’esquisser les contours d’une régulation efficiente de cette pratique.

  • La Directive Restructuration: une lecture à la lumière de l’analyse fonctionnelle du droit dans une perspective française
    La Directive Restructuration: une lecture à la lumière de l’analyse fonctionnelle du droit dans une perspective française

    par Vasile Rotaru

    1er octobre 2019

    Cette étude est une version enrichie de l’article publié dans la RTDF, juin 2019, co-écrit avec Sophie Vermeille. L’étude offre une analyse approfondie, du point de vue de l’analyse économique fonctionnelle du droit, des procédures de restructuration préventive et, notamment, de la nouvelle Directive Restructuration, de ces objectifs, modèles proposés et principales mesures. Il apparaît à l’issue de notre analyse que la Directive manque un socle intellectuel clair et cohérent, et poursuit parfois des mauvais objectifs. Néanmoins, les mesures significatives de la Directive peuvent être transposées en…

Présentations D&C

  • Présentation à France Stratégie sur le droit des sûretés
    Présentation à France Stratégie sur le droit des sûretés

    par Sophie Vermeille

    9 mars 2021

    Cette présentation faite à France Stratégie présente les idées majeures de Droit & Croissance à l’égard du droit des sûretés, dans le contexte de l’avant-projet d’ordonnance portant réforme du droit des sûretés lancée le 18 décembre 2020 par le ministère de la Justice.

  • Présentation GameStop – Queen Mary University
    Présentation GameStop – Queen Mary University

    par Paul Oudin

    1er mars 2021

    Les récents évènements en lien avec GameStop ont été vus par beaucoup comme un combat entre David et Goliath, et par d’autres comme une menace pour le bon fonctionnement des marchés financiers. Les discussions récentes relatives à l’applicabilité des règles relatives aux manipulations de marché ont montré que le débat juridique est lui-même loin d’être définitivement tranché. Dans cette présentation à l’Université Queen Mary, Paul Oudin saisit l’affaire GameStop comme une opportunité de revisiter le périmètre et l’objet de ces règles.

  • Les lacunes de la directive européenne n°2019/1023 relative aux cadres de restructuration préventive : une analyse économique du droit
    Les lacunes de la directive européenne n°2019/1023 relative aux cadres de restructuration préventive : une analyse économique du droit

    Par Sophie Vermeille
    Intervention lors de la conférence « The convergence in EU rules for insolvency and enforcement » – Bruxelles – 31 octobre 2019

    La directive européenne n°2019/1023 sera progressivement transposée par les États membres jusqu’au 17 juillet 2021. Fruit de nombreux compromis politiques, elle laisse une importante marge de manœuvre aux États membres dans leur effort de transposition. Pourtant, une analyse économique de la directive démontre que de nombreux aspects, tantôt abandonnés aux États membres et tantôt simplement ignorés par la directive, auraient nettement gagnés à être pris en compte.

D&C dans les médias

  • Les banques françaises face au risque des entreprises zombies
    Les banques françaises face au risque des entreprises zombies

    par Anne Drif et Édouard Lederer

    Les Echos – 28 janvier 2021

    Sophie Vermeille rappelle les écueils du projet de transposition de la directive sur les cadres de restructuration préventifs dans ce récent article des Echos.

  • Sophie Vermeille, à la recherche de l’intérêt général
    Sophie Vermeille, à la recherche de l’intérêt général

    par Hugo de Gerauvilliers, Souveraine Finance

    10 novembre 2020

    Tant qu’à mettre les pieds dans le plat, autant ne pas les avoir dans le même sabot. Et quitte à défendre des positions contre-intuitives, Sophie Vermeille le fait avec éclat.

    Chercheuse et avocate, Sophie s’est faite brocarder pour les idées hétérodoxes qu’elle a peut-être acquises en louvoyant dans ce monde interlope de la vente à découvert. Qu’importe : c’est dans l’épreuve que l’on forge ses convictions.

  • Entretien : Vers une véritable gouvernance d’entreprise en France ?
    Entretien : Vers une véritable gouvernance d’entreprise en France ?

    Entretien avec Eva Fourel

    Recueil Dalloz- 31 octobre 2019

    Extrait de la note de position de Droit et Croissance « Pour une véritable gouvernance d’entreprise en France », rédigée par Ahmed Guenaoui, Paul Oudin, Sophie Vermeille et Eva Fourel, cet entretien reprend les enjeux de la gouvernance d’entreprise en France, commente les limites de la loi PACTE et présente l’apport des modèles économiques les plus récents pour décrire la relation actionnaire-dirigeants.

Événements